The pCloud Encrypted Transfer – a Safer Option for Your Photos

As promised, we will now pay attention to the encrypted version of the pCloud file transfer service. Besides being fully secured, its best part is that it is completely free. To use the service, neither you, nor your recipients need to be registered to the pCloud platform. When you first open https://transfer.pcloud.com/, you are presented with the non encrypted transfer version, and you need to choose the Encrypted Transfer tab.

1_Transfer start screen

As it is in the non-encrypted version, you can send multiple files (up to 5GB total) with up to 200 MB for a single file to up to ten users at once.

When you open the pCloud transfer page, add the files you intend to send using the + Add Your Files section on the screen. Then enter your friends’ email addresses in the Friend’s Email field. When you enter an address, simply click Enter on your keyboard and the email will be added to the list on top of the field. Alternatively, you can click the + Add more friends option to enter other email addresses. After that, enter your email in the Your Email section, below the other users’ emails. This email address will appear as a sender of your files. Below it, you need to enter a password, using which your friends will be able to decrypt your files, once they receive them. You need to provide this password to them using a different media, like an instant messenger or the phone, or maybe over a cup of coffee. When you are done with entering the password, you can enter a message to your friends, explaining details about the files you are sending.

2_Transfer with loaded files

When you are ready with all of the aforementioned steps, click the Transfer button at the bottom of the screen. At this point you will be presented with the progress of encryption. When the process is complete, you will get a screen notification that your files have been transferred. Your friends will receive an email, notifying them about the file transfer you are performing.

3_Email

In this email they get a download button from where they can download the files, and an expiry date for them. When the recipient clicks on the Download button, they need to enter your password, in order to decrypt the files and download them.

4_Password

By receiving an email notification for receiving the files, you can be sure that the transfer has been successful.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s