file encryption

Wuala for your Photos

1_Wuala_logo

What is your greatest concern when storing your photos in the cloud? Do you want to store them in complete privacy? Then Wuala is definitely a good option. The more commonly used cloud storage services, such as Dropbox and Google Drive, are very convenient and user-friendly, but when we talk about security, they are definitely not the best possible options.

You can use Wuala as a desktop or mobile application for data backup and file synchronization. Unfortunately, Wuala does not offer a free plan. Its paid ones start from 5 GB/EUR 0,99/ month and reach 100 GB/EUR 389/year (for 5 users). The service is definitely not a cheap one, but it is one of the most secure platforms available. It is supported on Windows, Linux, iOS and Android. To use the Wuala service, you need to install its application on your computer or mobile device.

2_Start view

Initially it gives you four preliminarily created folders where you can backup your files. Using the Add button you can also add files and folders which need to be synchronized. You can also add files for backup and create public and private groups for your stored files.

3_Add sync

The Wuala service mainly differs from the mainstream cloud storage providers in the security measures applied. First, it’s the client-side encryption. All of your files are encrypted locally on your device before being sent to the cloud, which ensures that even on a non-encrypted transfer, no readable data would leak out. The other thing is the policy of Wuala not to have access to your passwords. Only you know your password, but if you lose your password, you will not have access to your files anymore.

If you need to sync particular folders of your photos, click the Add Sync function and manually locate your files in the system to add them for synchronization.

4_Select sync

When your files are synced, you can right-click on any of your folders and make use of the additional features that appear in the drop-down menu. You can also favorite a folder by clicking the star sign that appears to the left of your folder.

5_Folder options

Shortly, Wuala ensures you easily perform file backup and synchronization. It works like any other Sync tool, but with the benefit of being really secure. With Wuala your photos will be safe in the cloud and you will be sure that noone will have access to them, except if you like them to.

The pCloud Encrypted Transfer – a Safer Option for Your Photos

As promised, we will now pay attention to the encrypted version of the pCloud file transfer service. Besides being fully secured, its best part is that it is completely free. To use the service, neither you, nor your recipients need to be registered to the pCloud platform. When you first open https://transfer.pcloud.com/, you are presented with the non encrypted transfer version, and you need to choose the Encrypted Transfer tab.

1_Transfer start screen

As it is in the non-encrypted version, you can send multiple files (up to 5GB total) with up to 200 MB for a single file to up to ten users at once.

When you open the pCloud transfer page, add the files you intend to send using the + Add Your Files section on the screen. Then enter your friends’ email addresses in the Friend’s Email field. When you enter an address, simply click Enter on your keyboard and the email will be added to the list on top of the field. Alternatively, you can click the + Add more friends option to enter other email addresses. After that, enter your email in the Your Email section, below the other users’ emails. This email address will appear as a sender of your files. Below it, you need to enter a password, using which your friends will be able to decrypt your files, once they receive them. You need to provide this password to them using a different media, like an instant messenger or the phone, or maybe over a cup of coffee. When you are done with entering the password, you can enter a message to your friends, explaining details about the files you are sending.

2_Transfer with loaded files

When you are ready with all of the aforementioned steps, click the Transfer button at the bottom of the screen. At this point you will be presented with the progress of encryption. When the process is complete, you will get a screen notification that your files have been transferred. Your friends will receive an email, notifying them about the file transfer you are performing.

3_Email

In this email they get a download button from where they can download the files, and an expiry date for them. When the recipient clicks on the Download button, they need to enter your password, in order to decrypt the files and download them.

4_Password

By receiving an email notification for receiving the files, you can be sure that the transfer has been successful.

Safely Share your Files via the pCloud Transfer

You are probably already familiar with the pCloud platform, but it has something new to offer its users. This is the pCloud Transfer. To use the service, neither you, nor your recipients need to be registered for the pCloud service. The pCloud Transfer is a completely free and no-registration platform for transferring files. This is a very usable service for photo collectors and photographers. Let’s say you photograph a wedding. You can instantly send a large number of photos to your clients and be completely sure the transfer is fast and secure. Or you can send a collection of photos from your child’s birthday to your guests.

When you open the website you get the following start screen.

1_Transfer start screen

Through this new service you can send multiple files (up to 5GB in size) without single file size limits to up to ten users at once. However, if you register to the pCloud service, you will be able to send files with unlimited size, as long as your quota allows.

Once on the pCloud transfer page, add the files you want to send using the + Add Your Files section on the screen. Then enter your friends’ email addresses in the Friend’s Email field. When you enter an address, simply click Enter on your keyboard and the email will be added to the list on top of the field. Alternatively, you can click the + Add more friends option to enter other email addresses. After that, enter your email in the Your Email field, below the other users’ emails. This email address will appear as a sender of your files. You also have the option to enter a message to your friends, which they will receive along with your files.

2_Transfer with loaded files

When you are ready with all of the steps, click the Transfer button at the bottom of the screen. As you can see, your files are encrypted before sending, which makes the transfer highly secure. When the process is complete, you will get a notification that your files have been transferred. Your friends will receive an email, notifying them about the file transfer you are performing.

3_Email

In this email they get a list of the files they can download and an expiry date. When the recipient clicks the Download button, your files start downloading on their computer.

4_Ready to download

You will get a notification that your friends have received the files. This way you can be sure that the transfer has been successful.

Also, through this platform pCloud offers an encrypted file transfer option, and we promise to explain how it works in another article. So, stay tuned!